I’m Scared

Tomorrow I’m doing something new.

It’s scary but exciting, awkward but cool.

I…I…I’m…I’m running with someone I met on dailymile.  I’ve never met anyone from the cyber realm in real life before, it’s kind of creepy.  It’s not that I purposefully try and keep my online and real-life friends separate, it’s just turned out that way.

I’m sure it’s going to be a great experience for both of us, especially since our goals, pacing and training attitudes seem to be fairly similar…although I’ve got to be honest…there is something unsettling about saying that I’m meeting up with some strange guy I met on the internet…in a vacant parking lot… and he’ll be wearing bright green tights…like I said…creepy.

The dailymile site has been a great motivator and the support members provide each other is phenomenal.  Since running can be a solitary endeavor the community feel has been really beneficial in keeping my training on track and focused (not an easy task).  When I see pictures from other DM members who have had DM group runs/race meetups etc. they all seem to be having a wonderful time, with giant Cheshire smiles all around, and positive comments for all.  Although I have suspected it’s merely a Stepford-Wife-esque ploy to draw in new victims members, I think it may just be genuine goodwill for fellow athletes…even more creepy.

Hide the Body In totally unrelated news, I’m heading out of town for a week so don’t expect to hear much from me for a while.  I’m sure Brent will be quite thorough when  hiding the  body, but if he’s unsuccessful, I’ll let you know how the training run went when I get back.

Have a good one kids.

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on March 11, 2011, in Distance, Running, training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. running with internet friends .. fun and scary all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

