Peachbud 10km Race Preview

Tonight I’m running the Peachbud 10km in Grimsby, which will either go really well, or it’ll kill me.  I’m not sure how it’s going to go,  I’ve been feeling pretty good as of late but never really planned to out and out race this one….regardless I’m still going to give it a rip and see how I feel out on the course.

My “Race Plan” so far; I don’t think I can maintain 5 min/km for the full 10km but that’d be pretty awesome, hitting a negative split is probably the best course of action with the heat & humidity still pretty high out there.  Also, I’m not sure what the elevation profile is like…although I know the area by the lake is flat as long as the course stays back from the escarpment we’ll be good to go (that section along Main St. could be hilly).  5:10ish/km should work for the first half, a 5:00min/km push for 5-9km and all out for the final km would make things pretty good overall….if I can keep it up for that long (heh).

Anyway, it should be a fun race, at the very least it’ll be a hell of a lot more fun than the Rosebud 10km where you do laps around Xanadu and the winner takes home a damn sled…

Check out the course map below:

10km Peachbud mapSince I stole the map from their website, I suggest you check out http://www.instride.ca  for the deets on this and other races in the Subaru Niagara Running Series (hopefully they won’t sue me this way).

Have a good one kids!

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Race, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

