The Training Camp that Neverwas & a Kickass Race Weekend Preview

Sorry for the long hiatus folks, but with the summer season comes vacation time.

Despite my best-laid-plans, 8 days of camping with the family simply didn’t lend itself to the training camp I was hoping for.  Before leaving I had visions of getting in a least 6 quality runs including at a few trail runs, a 20+km long run, and even a tempo run or some fartleks if I was feeling particularly frisky…instead, I managed to get in half those runs.  So what happened?

Zombies! Run!

Zombies! Run!

First off, both travel days were a complete write-off.  Between packing or unpacking, driving for half a day, feeding little people etc. I simply ran out of time and energy.  Second, I snuck out mid way through our trip to hit up my parent’s place and did some construction work with my dad.  We made great progress, but after working in the sun for 10+ hours and having to put in another late night 2 ½ hour drive I wasn’t running anywhere that didn’t involve being chased by the undead or a sign proclaiming “FREE BEER!”.  Suddenly, my 8 day training camp was pared down to 5 days, and in the interest of maintaining familial harmony, I had to pick and choose my running options wisely.  Finally, my oldest son decided to slip while climbing on some rocks and land directly on my left foot.  Luckily he missed the foot with the sprained ankle, but now I was hurting on both sides.  Also to ensure he did a proper job, he managed to step on my bare toes at least 3 times a day….things were definitely looking good for a solid training effort.

When I did get out I did my best to keep the runs productive despite some setbacks.  The park has a multi-use dirt/cinder trail paralleling the main road which was the backbone for most of my runs.  My first run was a nice 12.5km run-by-feel down this trail, then onto some serious single track for a couple kms which added some nice variation.  At one point I simply had to stop and take in the stunning view of the sun rising over the bay, time well “wasted” indeed.  The second run was a more significant single track outing, not as long overall but higher quality for the trail portion.  Finally, I tried to cram in a 2hr long run which would take me out of the park, down some cottage roads to the other side of the bay and back.  What I didn’t plan on was the mass of killer deer flies that chased me for the majority of the road portion.  Instead of taking it easy and getting the distance in at a slow pace, my first 10km turned into a tempo run in a failed attempt to out-run the little buggers.  It didn’t work.  By the end of the first hour of my run I was exhausted, enraged, and my everything hurt.  I simply gave up, cut it short and headed back to camp.  Overall, some fun, some frustration, and in the blink of an eye…life is back to normal.

So where does that leave me for my “Kickass Race Weekend”?  Saturday morning I’ll be doing the 5 Peaks Trail race at Rattlesnake Point.  I’ve chosen to do the 12.5km enduro course option, which is supposed to be technical, rocky and hilly…typical Bruce Trail.   Sunday, I’ll be travelling to VQA country to run the new Twenty Valley Half Marathon. I have no intentions of pushing hard at either of these races, but it’ll be a great way to gauge what I’m capable overall.  What I’m really concerned about is weather.  It’s supposed to be stupid hot this weekend, with an additional humidex warnings.  To be perfectly honest, Sunday’s road race is the biggest concern.  No shade, and baking pavement?  (shudder)  I might be bonking pretty hard near the end.  Regardless, the sadist in me thinks it should be a blast!

Wish me luck kids, have a great weekend!

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Distance, Race, Running, Trails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment