Run for the Toad Recap

Yes, our car blew up in mid-Ohio this past weekend

Yes, we bought a new one on the fly and kept going

Yes, it’s bullshit, but sometimes life’s like that

Sometimes you just have to roll with things, and keep moving forward

Now back to our regularly scheduled race report…

Run for the Toad Recap:

Two weekends ago, I rolled out of bed on Saturday morning was greeted by single digit temperatures and light drizzle…(grumble)…I knew the forecast was calling for rain, and cold temps but this was ridiculous. I had my race clothes set out the night before, but am I ever glad I grabbed my hat/gloves when packing my back pack. I usually go the Boy Scout route and pack everything but the kitchen sink, and this was yet another time that it’s come in supremely handy. As I stood at the start line visibly shaking, fingers going numb, blood abandoning my appendages, I was convinced that the only thing keeping me alive was that thin microfiber hat.

Thanks to Ryder Photography for the pic of me freezing my nuts & berries off

The ironic part was that by the 2.5km mark I was so warm, that the gloves and hat were stuffed in my pockets, and my jacket was zipped up behind my back like a cape. I would have ditched them all, but 5 minutes after the finish I was jamming them back on to keep from going hypothermic. Now, don’t get me wrong…I enjoy running in the cold/snow/sleet but it does take me a few weeks to acclimate to it and this was the first cold snap of the fall. To top it off there was a nasty wind that seemed to suck the heat right out of your bones. Essentially, pre-race I was miserable.

The race itself went OK for me. During the first lap I was surprised at how quickly my quads started to register the fatigue, and then I really thought about it for a second and wasn’t surprised at all. 6 weeks off running with only one 5km training run the week before the race isn’t exactly fitness inducing, but my survival did attest to the benefits of all the cross-training I had done over the last month and a half.

For the most part I tried to take it easy on the up hills and relax and bomb it down the down hills, but regardless I ended up going out too fast for the long haul. I thought my pace would be sufficient to keep things even for both 12.5km loops, but in reality I was toast by half way through the second lap. I was fading so badly in fact, that in my stupor I caught my foot on a root and went for a tumble at the 20km mark, somersaulting up a slight incline…luckily I was alone at that point and didn’t have to formulate a witty quip to protect my fragile ego.

The course wasn’t terribly technical but the constant rolling hills definitely took their toll. With the cross training I did while off with my injury, I managed to maintain some fitness, but nothing I had done in preparation fore this race had readied me to climb hills…and it showed. If I can get a good, solid training base in next year I’d consider running this race again. The course varied from forested single track to 3-4 person wide meadow paths, and even a small portion of paved park roads; again, entertaining but not supremely technical.

The one down side for me was the multiple loop scenario. It’s great for spectators who are able to see their runners at multiple points in the race, but I could see how the repetition could get frustrating over the course of 50km.

Anyway, depending on what next year brings in terms of racing/activities etc. I’d consider doing the race again, but ultimately time will tell.

Have a good one kids.

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Distance, Race, Running, Trails and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

