Something has been percolating in my head for quite a while now.  Mostly it’s been vague ideas whisping emotions, waiting for a spark of cyrstalization to set everything in motion.  The problem is, there is always a reason to put it off until “a better time”, and the plan dissolves and the ideas get pushed back down into the dark recesses of my brain, waiting for their next chance at action…the problem is, if I don’t do something soon they may just stay down there and fester into regret.

Recently, I was surfing around the web and I came across Steve Kamb’s website Nerd Fitness, and noticed that members in the forums had periodic 6 week challenges.  I made note of it, and continued my way, knowing that it was only a matter of time until I came back.  Yesterday was the day.  Through Steve’s blog I noticed that the next challenge was up and set for Oct. 24 – Dec.5th.

Now is as good a time as any to start getting my life back on track after so many injury setbacks, so last night I sat down and set out some goals for the next 6 weeks.  I decided to start last night, which puts me at almost 7 weeks…and I have a feeling that I’ll be extending it further if things are going well… Anyway, here are my goals for the next 7 weeks…go big or go home!

 Fitness:

1.) Run Training 3-4 times a week; speedwork, recovery, long run (mostly trails)

2.) Strength Training 2-3 times a week; chinups, pullups, pushups, deadlifts, and squats.  Lat pulldowns, barbell rows, planks, bench press and overhead press optional.

3.) Hockey once a week, rock climbing & lap swimming when I can.  I am already signed up for hockey this season, but would really like to get back into rock climbing regularly.  I’ll talk about the swimming thing another time.

4.) Set goal race schedule for 2012

5.) Pace neighbour for Road2Hope Half Marathon, Nov. 6

Diet Goals:

1.) No more booze at home, and limited booze outside (events, and meals out only).  i.e. – stop drinking like a fratboy

2.) Eat an apple a day.  My diet is pretty good, but I take one to work everyday and manage to ignore it.

3.) More water!

Life Goals:

1.) Focused guitar playing; writing, practicing specific songs, and playing drills.  No more wasted time on aimless noodling!

 This is a pretty ambitious list, and the next 7 weeks will be difficult for sure!  I’ll  do my best to keep you all up to date with my progress.

Time to shake things up kids, have a good one!

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Diet, Fitness, Health, Running, training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

