Quick Review of 2011

Better late than never right?  Here we go:

The Good:

  • Beat my Around the Bay 30km time from 2010
  • “Kick Ass Race Weekend!”  – Ran a 12.5km trail race on Saturday and a blazing hot Half-Marathon on the Sunday
  • Paced my neighbour (Special K) through his first Half-Marathon
  • Ran 25km of the Run for the Toad trail race with only 1 training run in the last 6 weeks before race day.
  • Ran my 3rd marathon (Sub 4hr, but didn’t hit my  1st two goals)
  • Ran a 30km race,  a 10km race, & 2 half marathons

The Bad:

  • Bone Bruise Left Instep – Missed Grimsby Half Marathon and nuked a good part of ATB training
  • Sprained Ankle
  • Broken Toe – Killed the last 6 weeks of training for the Run for the Toad 50km
  • Torn Rotator Cuff – It hurts to put on a jacket, ok?

I’ve already written a “Goals for 2012” post of sorts here so we’ll run with that until something new and shiny pops up and distracts me.  They are all great races, and although I really should be branching out and trying new races I have specific reasons to try each of them again…and to kick their collective asses. 😉

To be honest, the only reason I haven’t signed up for many of them is because I’m scared of the curse.  For those of you not in the know; in the past when I’ve signed up for a race (especially one I’m really geared up for) I end up hurting myself in some freak manner which adversely effects my training/race day.  But, not this year. This year will be different.  Want a 2012 resolution?  Here’s one…stay healthy!

Anyway, my biggest Goal/Resolution for 2012 is simply to enjoy it and make it better than 2011.  How ‘bout you?

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

