Freeze Your Thorns Off – Virtual 5km

Saturday marked the running of the fools…or the Boring Runner’s Freeze Your Thorns Off 5km run…call it what you’d like.  For those of you just tuning in, I’ve been fighting some nagging shin pain (shin splints) as of late, and I wasn’t sure exactly how I was going to run Adam’s virtual party, at the very least I thought I’d hit the pavement and see how it went.

As it turned out, after a few days of limited mileage and a pair of new kicks my shins were feeling decent.  I really didn’t know what to expect when I went out the door Saturday night, but after a tentative warmup I got into a groove and decided to push it.  If I had planned things better I probably could have dropped my time by not putting a huge hill in the first km, but being the rocket surgeon I am I was already half into the km long uphill section before the thought even occurred to me.  My finishing time was     25:30:01 (I missed stopping my watch at exactly 5.0km), and after a few failed attempts at taking pics with my phone  under a street light in gusting snow I continued on and put in an awesome 10km workout.  The Kinvara 2’s held up fantastically, and didn’t cause me any hassle which makes me feel better about my purchase (regardless of the great price I paid).

Sunday I had some residual shin pain again but my day was busy enough that when I had to abandon my long run for another 5km effort I didn’t worry about it…too much…Hopefully another easy day today will lead back into some solid mileage again, I was kind of enjoying, but I’m a masochist  at heart though…

so…how was your weekend?

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Race, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. nice 5k time….I wish I had done that virtual race, as I love virtual races…..maybe I will 😉 nice sunglasses!

  2. Aww man! I totally missed this! Nice work on the 5K. If you’re running hard enough, you should always miss hitting your garmin exactly on the time 🙂

    Hopefully those shins figure themselves out. I struggled with shin splints for ages until i started to foam roll my calves. Tight calves always got to me.

    • Thanks Adam, the shins have been pretty good as of late; getting new shoes, not switiching back and forth between my trail and road shoes, adn moderating my volume have all helped.

  1. Pingback: Sweat Your Thorns Off 5km « 51feetunder

Leave a Reply

