My Achin’ Back!

What would a training cycle be without a non-running-connected injury to report?  At least the shin splints that bugged me a little while ago were running related…

Back Story (HA!)

In the fall I started lifting weights 1-2 times a week to jump on this cross-training bandwagon I had heard so much about (I felt so trendy!).  Generally I’d hit some weights on a night where I was leashed to the house for one reason or another, then fit in some bodyweight exercises (pushups, chin/pullups, planks, etc.) in front of the tube or between some of my daily tasks (putting kids in baths & bed, doing dishes, cleanup duty, yada yada yada).  Everything was progressing well, I was taking it slow and focusing on form over performance until I was sure I had each exercise dialed…that was until 3 weeks ago.  During my last weight session I was in a bit of a hurry trying to squeeze everything in and get to bed early, so instead of completing a proper warmup I dove right into things where I had left off from my previous workout. Being the rational, intelligent, talented fellow everyone knows and loves I figured I’d be fine…I’m sure you can see where this is going…during a set of deadlifts the bar weight pulled my center of gravity over the front of my feet (instead of the heels), my back rounded and I felt a sudden twang in my lower lumbar region.  Workout aborted, I was on the couch with an ice pack tramp-stamp within 2 minutes.

Fast-forward to last week, my back had been fine (a little tight) since the incident but I was able to run without issue, and even return to bodyweight exercising…that was until I played hockey one night.  At one point I lunged for a puck that was just out of my reach when that familiar sharp pain rushed in and kicked me in the spine.   Wonderful…

In the past I’ve had issues with a tilted pelvis….wait…what?  Yep, when I started running my body reacted in all manner of wonderful wacky ways.  My lower back/glutes would get tight and my pelvis would tilt; left side higher, right side lower, which in turn caused my IT band to shorten and probably explains the hobbling mess I reverted into by the end of the Ottawa Marathon in 2010.    Since that time, I’ve tried to strengthen things by Cross Training off and on, and things were coming along.  Until now.

As far as I can tell, now my pelvis has a posterior tilt/rotation caused by weakened/injured lower back muscles and tight hamstrings (from all the cross training goodness), which feels like someone is sticking razors into my lower back when I sit for too long.  Luckily I have a desk job, and sitting all day is the majority of my day…(sigh).

For the time being I’ve simply been trying to loosen things up with a combination of stretching, romantic sessions in the hot tub, and then making sweet love to my foam roller.

 

It usually works for a bit , but every day has been a different experience in terms of pain/immobility.  At least tonight I get to visit my Athletic Therapist/Osteopath buddy for a treatment.  Maybe he can put Humpty Dumpty back together again?

How about you?  Ever had an “other sport” injury hamper your progress?

Take it easy kids…

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Injury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

