Levon Helm (The Band) Passes Away

Alot has been said about the The Band’s legendary drummer passing over to the other side so I won’t repeat it unnecessarily, although as a “music blogger” I’d be remiss if I didn’t at least tip my hat to one of the greats.

When I started rock climbing, “Up on Cripple Creek” was often sung on the walks into and out of crags, not to mention around the campfire after a few  “pops”:

Up on Cripple Creek she sends me
If I spring a leak, she mends me
And I don’t have to speak, she defends me
A drunkard’s dream if I ever did see one

…nothing more fitting for a bunch of the fellas pining for the love a good woman while under the influence…

I want to post a video but somehow this just feels more right than Cripple Creek, so here’s to you Mr. Helm: I wish you safe travels to wherever the next world takes us, thanks for the music, thanks for the good times.

G’night kids

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Music, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

