Road2Hope Half Marathon Goals

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages

After much deliberation, consolation, postulation, inspiration, hesitation and perspiration I’ve finally decided on a race plan for Sunday’s Road2Hope half marathon.

Short version: I’m going to shoot for a 1:45
Long version: Go get a coffee this could take a minute to get through….The feedback from my pacing inquiry a few days ago was split 50/50.  Half of you suggested I take it easy, then make a push near the end if I was feeling good, the other half called me out and told me to go for it.  Essentially, it came down to my gut.  When I decided to actually RACE this half (instead of merely running it) the idea was to see what I was capable of; to dig deep, to push my limits and leave everything out on the course.  To do this I can’t just back away from a time that scares me, it’s time to step up.

With that being said, it’s time to set the definitive list:

A – 1:45 (5:00 min/km)
B – 1:50 (5:15min/km)
C – 1:52:30 (My current HM best although it is from 2008)
D – Don’t poop myself (always a plus, stolen from Claire)

OK, maybe it wasn’t that long, but at least now you have a coffee: you’re welcome 😉

As with any race prediction/result; If I hit my goal I’ll do a happy dance, and if I don’t it makes for good blog material.

Wish me luck!

About 51feetunder

Running & Fitness, Rock Climbing & Outdoor Activities, Photography & Rock & Roll.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in Distance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good luck……Nicole apparently isn’t going to let me GIVE’R b/c it’s my first but come the 5k mark if I am feeling awesome I’m definitely going to haul some ass……this will be my first race, heck even run! where I’ll be paced. As I don’t own any garmin, so I only know my overall pace when I get home. Which means I will be running slower than I’ll feel I want to…blah!

    Anyway, I wish you the best of luck and I hope your wife can maintain the fast pace too. 🙂

    There are sooo many people at this race I think I may need to get drunk after ;P

Leave a Reply

